Originality

I read a post earlier this week that I really needed to read. It was called “Fearing Unoriginality”. It was about how common this fear is, for writers; and how, even though it can sometimes feel paralysing, it is important to overcome.

Each voice is important.

Each piece of writing has the potential to hit the right person, at the right time, and “change everything”.

Each story – and this is the bit that I really like – “still adds to the collective voice”.

The post left me feeling both liberated and reassured.

I pressed publish on a draft that has been sitting in my inbox for a while, because I was worried that it didn’t add to the debate. The block that I’ve had about writing splintered, slightly. And, I also went off on a tangent and started thinking about how “fearing unoriginality” has impacted on the rest of my life –

It has certainly been something that has crossed my mind.

I have always been rather scared that I blur into the background and that there is nothing different or particularly interesting about me. The fear has made me blur into the background further – and it has also overlooked something that I seem, at the moment, to be learning every day.

That we are all originals.

That, because we are all originals, we all have something particular and special to give.

Lisa Kilian’s post talks about writing. About how overwhelming it can be to feel that your words and ideas are worth adding to an already noisy debate. I think, even though I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, that I have felt similarly about life. I have been so hung up on comparisons and definitions and differentiations that I have forgotten there is a space for everyone. That unoriginality is an impossibility as long as I am brave enough to just be me.

4 responses to “Originality

  1. This makes me so happy. 🙂

    • Thank you. I always find it a little daunting referring back to other posts but you struck a real chord – and one that’s been there for a while. Thank you!! 🙂

  2. I always leave here with something… a feeling, an emotion, a light bulb going off over my head. You help me clarify my thoughts by taking me through your thoughts.
    Thank you Issa — you’re an original.

Leave a Reply

